Post Archive
› June 19, 2002
Identity Theft
Webgraphics has been the victim of identity theft, some lowlife is using an non-existant web-graphics email address as the "source" of their spam. This was brought to my attention by another vicitm, someone who's server was being used for mail relaying. If anyone has any advice on how to take action against this, please email me or leave comments. Thanks.
Comments
1. June 21, 2002 11:38 AM
2. June 21, 2002 12:22 PM
Quote this comment
Nate Posted…
Thanks for the tip dougal. So far we are researching. I’m not sure I would persue legal action even if I could, simply because I’m not selling anything here, so it might be harder to argue without real dollar figures. Also, I’m not as interested in punative action, as I am in simply preventing it in the future (assuming that’s possible). I’ll keep folks updated if I learn more.3. June 26, 2002 09:35 PM
Quote this comment
Mena Posted…
movabletype.org, dollarshort.org and sixapart.com (all domains that we own) have been used quite often as originating spam addresses. I spent an entire day researching the legal ramifications of this abuse; basically, this is one of the easiest forms of spam abuse you can prosecute since their are direct laws about address forgery. However, I think that it’s not worth the effort; I too, would be very interested in hearing ways to actually prevent this for future reference. What even crazier is that I’m receiving spam daily from my husband’s account — it’s like the spammers know that he’s whitelisted in my SpamAssassin config!4. June 27, 2002 01:29 AM
Quote this comment
Dougal Posted…
If you decide to pursue legal action, make sure that your attorney is familiar with the flowers.com case.
That one involved a spammer forging the flowers.com domain name in the return address, and flowers.com won a case against them.